Chamber

Chamber Corner FallEstablished in 1965, the Glenns Ferry Chamber of Commerce, while civic in nature, it proudly boasts a Gem State Treasure town nestled along the banks of the Snake River. Our Chamber is fully dedicated to encouraging new commercial and recreational development with strategic plans in place to increase employment and make continual improvements for the welfare of our residents.

Our beautiful city has recently experienced a “facelift” with the addition of attractive streetlamps, trees, new sidewalks and a remake of the Chamber of Commerce corner; which is the focal point of our town. The corner features a stunning upscale town-square look and feel with its large commemorative clock, welcoming comfort benches and coordinating bollards and decorative chains that cordon off the area.

Glenns Ferry enjoys a mild climate with an average of 300 days of sunshine per year. Our population is currently around 1,350. The city maintains a library, a beautiful park, emergency services, airport and local swimming pool. We offer casual to fine dining, health care facilities, golf course with vineyard, shopping, seasonal city market featuring artisan quality handmade items and bounties from our local gardeners.

We diligently maintain an “eye to the future” while honoring our rich heritage. Glenns Ferry has much to offer tourists, new industry, outdoor enthusiasts and those looking for a new home town.

Our current membership is approximately 100. Main activities and fundraisers include: 4th of July Celebration, Golf Tournament, Three Island Days, GEM Community, Revitalization Committee, Economic Development Committee, Scholarship Fund, Fall Festival and Christmas Activities.

2013 Officers:
• Connie Wills, President
• Brock Lenz, Vice President
• Cathy Wiggins, Secretary
• Dale Smith, Treasurer
• Directors: Jean Mullen, Jimi Orr, Connie Crawshaw, & Donna Fain.

Glenns Ferry is most famous for the Oregon Trail River Crossing where pioneers forded the dangerous waters of the Snake River. In 1869 Gustavus “Gus” Glenn began a vital ferry service. The town’s identity honors both Gus’s name and the service he initiated. In 1971 Three Island Crossing State Park opened and later established the magnificent Oregon Trail History and Education Center. The state park has full service campgrounds and cabins available for renters.

In 1909 the first school was established; built from massive sandstone blocks quarried across the Snake River serving as the primary and secondary school until 1965. In 1987 the building gained National Historical Register status and ultimately became the Glenns Ferry Historical Museum. The museum is unique due to Glenns Ferry being so blessed by a rich history of diversified peoples such as Native American inhabitants, pioneers, sheep and cattle ranchers and railroad workers. The portraits, paintings, photographs and artifacts and historical rarities certainly encourage the visitor to have a deep appreciation for our Western American heritage.

For Information please call 208-366-7345